Sundays

I love Sundays. Its my one full on with the kids all day from the minute we wake up until the minute we go to sleep day. It is also the most INSANE day of my week, but I think that’s why I love it so much. We tend to wake up early, the first one usually climbs into bed with me between 6.30 and 7 and by 7.30 most of us are downstairs helping to get breakfast ready. Everyone has a job from setting the table to mixing the pancake batter and 8am tends to be breakfast time. The eldest is usually dragged out of bed to join us and we have a fun cooked breakfast all together. Then its whatever we’re going to be doing for the rest of the day, today it was hoovering, baking and cleaning out the pets and then lunch, trip to the cinema to see Wreck it Ralph before home for dinner, baths and in a couple of hours time – bed.

The 4 of them are at such different ages and have such different needs. Today I’ve talked my 12yo down from a best friend disaster, read stories to the 3yo, done some sewing with the 5yo and listened to my 8yo tell me all about some game on the ipad. We’ve laughed and argued and generally been moving all day. I don’t know how it works but it does. They are such a beautiful pack of kids, and I use the word pack for a reason! Despite the 5yo cutting her own hair today we’ve had such fun.

The dishwasher and I both work hard on a Sunday. Its our punishment for being lazy bastards on a Friday and Saturday without the kids, I tend not to cook for myself and then the dishwasher doesn’t go on. It usually goes on 2 or 3 times on a Sunday with 3 cooked meals to clean up after!

We’re just about to eat dinner and then I think we’re doing jigsaws and playing scrabble till bed time.

I’m very lucky. Wouldn’t swap these guys for the world.

