Publishing Expo

I had a really interesting day here yesterday, Publishing Expo.

Not only was it a great chance to get out there and meet lots of printers, digital service providers, and other people in the publishing industry it was also interesting to listen to some of the seminars and learn from the huge amount of experience that is at the show.

We all know that DIGITAL is going to be bigger and better this year, but there are so many options out there, it was a little mind boggling and very, very interesting.

I had also arranged meetings with lots of other people involved in the magazine publishing world, many of whom I’ve met through online publisher forums. It was refreshing to meet up with similar like minded people and to realise that we all struggle with the same issues. We picked up lots of new leads and contacts and all in all it was a good day.

It made me realise that I don’t miss the commute into London every day though and that you should be wary of picking up every freebie that is offered otherwise you’ll find yourself carrying a very heavy (free!) bag up the hill at the end of the day and wishing you’d been more selective.

I was tempted to go back today and meet up with some people who I missed yesterday but elected to stay home and catch up on paperwork instead.  Tomorrow is a manual labour day, we’re moving into our new office – I can’t wait!

