Internet v real life

This isn’t an easy post to write, I’ve thought long and hard about whether I should keep my head down and just ignore this or speak up about it. In the end I decided that I won’t give in to bullies either in real life or on the internet and so I’m going to share what’s been happening over the last week or so.

Last Saturday I received a death threat in the post. In my mind this has totally crossed any line that has ever been drawn in the sand regarding customer service and is wrong on so many levels. How dare someone decide that because of a business action of mine that I deserve to be dead. In a way this was a good thing to happen as its made me angry. Really angry. I’ve reported it to the police and have shown it to my team and my family and have told everyone that despite the promises of a hard core set of people to drum me out of business that I am not going anywhere. I fully intend to carry on with the business, growing and changing and learning from my experiences and making our magazines, our processes and our team stronger and stronger.  If you don’t like that, that’s fine. But stop and have a think before you make accusations or threats in public places, there is often a real life person at the end of it who is doing their best, whether or not you agree with how they are doing it.

Comments closed. I’m not in any mood to debate this here or anywhere else. I’ve felt that I can’t shouldn’t chat on twitter / facebook over the last week as I’ve seen my life dissected everywhere I look but I’m not prepared to let the actions of other people influence how I spend my internet time.

The whole point of this post is to say that death threats are never the right way to take action against something that you are unhappy with.

Edited to remove some detail, on the advice of a friend. The point of this post still stands.

