A time to reflect

I’m sitting here on my sofa having put the smallest 2 children to bed, thinking of the other half of my family, my husband and the eldest 2, who are over the other side of the world in a tropical climate – far far away from me. Today my big 2 went to their first ever funeral, without me. I know they’ll be OK but still, it feels odd. Like I should have been there with them. The house feels empty with just 3 of us here, not bad, just different.

I have work to do. I have tidying up to do. I have a list as long as my arm of things that I need to do. But I think I’ll sit. And knit. And reflect on life and my family for a bit longer.

I haven’t watched TV since they’ve been gone (apart from kids programmes with the little 2) I thought I’d fancy watching a film tonight but I don’t. I fancy silence. Just the sound of the dishwasher in the kitchen and the click of my knitting needles.

 

