Goddess Circle

One thing that I have resolved this year is that I will look after myself more than I have ever done before. I spend a lot of time looking after other people and over the last 10 years or so I’ve really lost touch with who I am.  That’s not to say I’m unhappy, I’m not, but I do crave peace and quiet and time to myself sometimes to just be.

Starting to run has been something I’ve done just for me. Its not hugely convenient for the rest of the family and means I leave the kids with my husband a lot more than I have ever done before when I come home from work, get changed and go out for a 2 mile run in the evenings. But I love it, running gives me time to think, time to get over the stresses of the day, time to plan and count my footsteps and concentrate on getting fit and losing those 3 stone that I’ve put on over the last 12 years.

I’ve always been very spiritual and believe in a greater power out there, I truly believe that I have people who have died who look out for me and I take great comfort in the idea of the power of the universe.

I tweet a lot, I like the community I’m building up on twitter and the fact that the people I interact with there are a mixture of people I know in real life, subscribers to our magazines, designers, staff, friends and lots of other people. It was through twitter that I came across the idea of the Goddess Circle. I’ll admit that at first I was sceptical of all the tweets. I think it was the language that made me uncomfortable, I’m not a goddess – I’m just a normal woman. It sounded a little too new age (even for a drug free birthing, breastfeeding, babywearing, home cooked food mother like me) and although I kept stumbling over her tweets I wasn’t convinced enough to click.

But something made me. I don’t know what but I clicked on the link in one of the tweets and was met with EXACTLY the web site I was expecting.  Bright, colourful, not really the kind of thing I’m into but it called to me.  I spent a bit of time getting to know the site, I read her blog for hours, her birth stories (which made me cry) and the more I read the more I knew that I should get involved with this site.  The more I read the more the term goddess didn’t bother me as much as it had initially and so I took the plunge and paid my $99 and joined.

I’ve joined a couple of the online classes, the Radiant goddess course starting on Sunday and the Business Goddess course in Feb.  The booklets and information that I’ve downloaded so far have been amazing and have really encouraged me to focus in 2012.

I’m very early on in my journey of self discovery and although I’m not sure I’ll ever be totally comfortable describing myself as a goddess I know that this is something I need to do.

Check out the goddess circle here If you’re used to online forums this will be nothing like you’ve experienced before, the outpouring of support and help and general caring from the other women there is amazing.  I feel really honoured to be a part of it, even though I haven’t really gotten too involved yet.

I’ll be working my way through the 2012 workbook over the next few weeks and will share my progress here so you can see what its all about!

